India Tribune

Saturday, Mar 28th

Last update:07:01:41 PM GMT

Serving the Asian Indian community in the US for over 36 years. ***** Established in 1977 ***** Published in three editions - Chicago, New York and Atlanta. ***** Reaches over sixty thousand people every week.
You are here: Home India Politics Narendra Modi takes oath as Chief Minister of Gujarat

Narendra Modi takes oath as Chief Minister of Gujarat

E-mail Print PDF

Ahmedabad: Narendra Modi took oath as Gujarat's Chief Minister for the fourth time at the Sardar Patel Stadium here on December 26. Governor Kamala Beniwal administered the oath of office and secrecy to Modi.

BJP top brass, including Sushma Swaraj, L.K Advani, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh, Venkaiah Naidu, Ananth Kumar, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J, Jayalalithaa, and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shiv-raj Singh Chauhan attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Maharashtra Navnirman Sena chief Raj Thackeray, Indian National Lok Dal leader Om Prakash Chautala, former Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhra Raje, BJP leaders Shahnawaz Hussain, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Anurag Thakur, Smriti Irani, Prakash Javadekar and Navjot Singh Sidhu were present to witness Modi's crowning moment.

A host of other non-political faces, including Bollywood actor Vivek Oberoi, his father Suresh Oberoi and actor Kirron Kher, also were present during the swearing-in ceremony.

Having secured an electoral hat-trick, Modi had earlier, thanked the people of the state for giving the BJP another chance to form the government.

Modi praised the voters for exercising their franchise in a mature manner. He said their vote was a signal of their approval for development and further progress in the state.

"I thank the people of Gujarat. People have voted thinking if Gujarat prospers, I will prosper. Gujarat voters have proved that people make their choice based on development and progress. Gujarat's voters are the real heroes today," said Modi.

"The people of state have proved that if a government provides good governance and development to the people, they will forget everything and vote for that government. I promise that they will continue to witness tremendous development and progress in future also," he added.

The BJP bagged 115 of the 182 assembly seats up for grabs, while the Congress Party emerged victorious in 61. The Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP) of former Chief Minister Keshubhai Patel bagged two seats.